Goreham re-elected in State College; school board incumbents unseated in Bellefonte

From CDT staff reportsNovember 5, 2013 


State College Mayor Elizabeth Goreham and her husband Jack Matson talk outside the State College Chinese Alliance Church poll on Election Day, Tuesday, November 5, 2013.

NABIL K. MARK — CDT photo Buy Photo

Here are winners from Tuesday’s general election, according to the unofficial results:

Bellefonte Borough Council: Joseph Beigle and Barry Spicer have won two seats to represent Ward 1. Sheila Stever came in third place.

Howard Borough Council: Carolyn Hollar, Leon Marshall, Philip Winchell and Clifton Corman won four seats. Out was John Gribble.

Liberty Township supervisor: Challenger Mike Rupert defeated incumbent Roberta McGhee 158-119.

State College mayor: Elizabeth Goreham defeats Ron Madrid.

Bellefonte Area school board: Challengers Rodney Musser and Michael Danneker and incumbents Chip Aikens and Keith Hamilton won the four four-year terms. Incumbents Jeff Steiner and Becky Rock were unseated.

State College district judge: Steven Lachman defeated Susan Bardo, 791-576.

Spring Township supervisor: Frank Royer defeated Stephen Zelznick.

Harris Township supervisor: Christopher Lee defeated Franklin Harden by 36 votes.

State College Borough Council: Tom Daubert, Evan Myers and Theresa Lafer have won three seats.

Philipsburg-Osceola Area school board: Robert Massung defeated incumbent Mary Ellen Holden by two votes for a seat representing Rush Township.

Penns Valley Area school board: Challenger Victoria Brennan defeated incumbent Amy Niewinski for a seat representing Region 3.

Benner Township supervisor: Mark Capriani defeated incumbent John Elnitski, 361-352.

Check back here for more results as they become available.

Centre Daily Times is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service