Football: Locals athletes to be honored at annual banquet

From CDT staff reportsMarch 5, 2014 

A half-dozen senior football players from Centre County high schools will be among 45 student-athletes who will be honored for their community service, academic and athletic success at the 17th annual Student-Athlete Scholarship Banquet.

The event, sponsored by the Central Pennsylvania Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame, will be held March 23 at the Penn Stater Conference Center Hotel. Doors open at noon for a silent auction, with the event starting at 1:30 p.m.

Among those who will be honored are Ryan Watkins (Bald Eagle Area), Jacob Martin (Bellefonte), Taylor Collison (Penns Valley), Nick Boumerhi (Philipsburg-Osceola), Evan Young (St. Joseph’s) and Patrick Irwin (State College).

At least 33 of the student-athletes will be awarded a special $1,000 college scholarship for their outstanding achievements, and one will be singled out for the chapter’s annual community service award. Awards also will be given for lifetime achievement to individuals in college coaching, officiating and the media.

In addition, a player will be honored for his work from each of the chapter’s eight colleges and universities: Bloomsburg, Bucknell, Clarion, Juniata, Lock Haven, Lycoming, Penn State and St. Francis.

New Nittany Lions football coach James Franklin will be the featured speaker.

The event is open to the public, tickets are $25 per person and must be purchased by March 8 through Treasurer Bill Nichol, 467 Nimitz Ave., State College, PA 16801. Checks should be payable to the Central Pennsylvania Chapter NFF/CHF.

Centre Daily Times is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service