Penn State

Penn State professors elected to distinguished scientific society

Seven Penn State faculty members have been elected as fellows in the American Association for the Advancement of Science in recognition of the research, the university has announced.

Six of the fellows are based at the University Park campus. They are:

• Ottar Bjørnstad, professor of entomology, biology and statistics;

• Squire Booker, professor of chemistry, biochemistry and molecular biology;

• William Brune, chair and professor of Meteorology;

• Kevin Furlong, professor of geosciences;

• Bruce Logan, Evan Pugh Professor of environmental engineering; and

• Alan MacEachren, professor of geography.

The other fellow, James Broach, is a professor of biochemistry and molecular biology at Penn State’s College of Medicine in Hershey.

The association is the world’s largest general scientific society and publishes the journal Science. The seven faculty members at Penn State are among the 388 elected this year who will be recognized in February at the organization’s meeting in Chicago.

They join the ranks of more than 50 AAAS fellows at Penn State.

“I’m delighted that the American Association for the Advancement of Science has recognized the outstanding contributions of these seven distinguished faculty members,” Penn State President Rodney Erickson said. “Faculty are the heart and soul of any great university, and it is always special when Penn State faculty are recognized by their higher education peers for their notable achievements.”