Board of Trustees

Meet the Penn State board of trustees

Before the Penn State board of trustees gathers for its next meeting at 10:15 a.m. Friday at the Nittany Lion Inn, get to know a little more about the men and women who, according to the bylaws, have “(t)he authority for effecting the corporate purposes and for management and government” of the university.

Here are the members of the Penn State University Board of Trustees:

Members ex officia:

Rodney Erickson, Penn State president

Tom Corbett, Governor

(Jennifer Branstetter, Governor’s nonvoting representative)

George Greig, Agriculture secretary

Richard Allan, Conservation and natural resources secretary

Ron Tomalis, Education secretary

Appointed by the governor

Alvin H. Clemens, chief executive officer of The Provident American, a health insurance company. A 1959 graduate, he also serves on the Smeal College of Business Board of Visitors.

Mark H. Dambly, president of Pennrose Properties LLC, lives in Media, and holds a bachelor’s degree in real estate and insurance from Penn State.

Michael F. DiBerardinis, deputy mayor for environmental and Community Resources, City of Philadelphia; Commissioner, Department of Parks and Recreation

Peter A. Khoury, undergraduate student, Penn State

Ira M. Lubert, chairman and co-founder of Independence Capital Partners and Lubert Adler Partners L.P.

Paul H. Silvis, of Patton Township, head coach, Silco Tek, Centre County resident

Elected by alumni:

Marianne E. Alexander, of Ellicott City, Md., president emerita of the Public Leadership Network, CEO of Big Spoon Enterprises

H. Jesse Arnelle, of San Francisco, attorney, and former basketball player for Penn State and the NBA.

Stephanie Nolan Deviney, attorney at Fox Rothschild LLP in Exton

Steve A. Garban, board chairman, senior vice president for finance and operations/treasurer emeritus at Penn State.

David R. Jones, retired assistant managing editor, The New York Times

David M. Joyner, corporate medical director and partner, Occupational Athletics Inc., Harrisburg

Joel. N. Myers, president, Accuweather Inc., based in Ferguson Township

Anne Riley, of State College, teacher

Paul V. Suhey, orthopedic surgeon, Martin & Suhey Orthopedics, of State College

Elected by delegates from agricultural societies:

Keith W. Eckel, of Clarks Summit, owner and president of Fred W. Eckel and Sons Farms, Inc.

Samuel E. Hayes Jr., Huntingdon County native, former Pennsyvlania Secretary of Agriculture, former member of the state House of Representatives

Barron L. “Boots” Hetherington, owner and operator of B&R Farms, a fruit and vegetable farm in Schuylkill County.

Betsy E. Huber, immediate Past Master of the Pennsylvania State Grange

Keith E. Masser, chairman and CEO of Sterman Masser Inc., a family farm in Sacramento, Pa.

Carl T. Shaffer, of Mifflinville, president of the Pennsylvania Farm Bureau

Elected by board representing business and industry:

James S. Broadhurst, chairman of Eat’n Park Hospitality Group Inc.

Kenneth C. Frazier, president and CEO, Merck * Company Inc.

Edward R. Hintz Jr., president, Hintz Capital Management Inc.

Karen B. Peetz, vice chairman, CEO of Financial Markets and Treasury Services, Bank of New York Mellon

Linda B. Strumpf, retired chief investment officer, The Helmsley Charitable Trust

John P. Surma, chairman and CEO, United States Steel Corp.

Emeriti trustees:

Charles C. Brosius, retired as president of Marlboro Mushrooms

Walter J. Conti, of Doylestown, retired owner of Cross Keys Inn, Pipersville Inn

Donald M. Cook Jr., retired president of SEMCOR, Inc.

Marian U. Barash Coppersmith, retired chairman of the board of The Barash Group, of State College

Robert M. Frey, attorney with Frey and Tiley, P.C.

J. Lloyd Huck, of Patton Township, retired chairman of the board of Merck and Company Inc.

Edward P. Junker III, retired vice chairman, PNC Bank Corp.

Roger A. Madigan, retired state senator

Robert D. Metzgar, former president, North Penn Pipe and Supply Inc., of Warren.

Barry K. Robinson, attorney

L.J. Rowell Jr., retired chairman and CEO, Provident Mutual Life Insurance

Cecile M. Springer, president, Springer Associates

Helen D. Wise, former deputy chief of staff for programs and Secretary of the Cabinet, Governor’s Office

Boyd E. Wolff, retired owner and operator of Wolfden Farms

Quentin E. Wood, retired chairman and CEO, Quaker State Corp.

Edward P. Zemprelli, Clairton, attorney

Twitter: Don’t miss any updates from the trustee meeting on Friday. Follow us @psu_alumni2012

Watch as it happens: Look for live streaming of the meeting on Friday at