More preseason awards watch lists for Penn State players

Well, it’s July, and that means preseason awards watch lists after preseason awards watch lists are getting released.

Three Penn State players — Christian Hackenberg, DaeSean Hamilton and Anthony Zettel — were already recognized for some big-time trophy potential earlier this week.

No big shock there; those are three names Penn State fans can expect to see a lot of this season.

Two more players got recognized for their on-field potential on Wednesday.

Senior center Angelo Mangiro was named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List, and senior tight end Kyle Carter was named to the Mackey Award Watch List.

The Rimington Trophy is annually given to the best center in NCAA Division-I college football. It also raises money for the cystic fibrosis community, with $2.6 million raised since its inception.

Penn State has just one Rimington Trophy winner in history — A.Q. Shipley, who is currently with the Arizona Cardinals.

Mangiro made 10 starts at center last season, two at right tackle and one at right guard as a member of a very young offensive line. He is expected to step into an even bigger leadership role this season as a returning starter.

This is Carter’s second straight year on the Mackey Award Watch List, given annually to the best collegiate tight end in the nation.

The finalists for the Rimington Trophy finalist will be announced Dec. 7, while the Mackey Award recipient will be announced on Dec. 9.

Academic Honorees

The Big Ten released its list of Distinguished Scholar Award recipients for 2014-15, and two Penn State football players were honored.

Kicker Christopher Gulla, a Business Administration major, and Tyler Yazujian, a Pennsylvania native and Security and Risk Analysis major, both made the list, which requires a minimum grade point average of a 3.7 or higher from the previous academic year.