Penn State

Penn State athletes earn Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award

Penn State had 81 athletes earn the Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award, the conference announced Wednesday.

There were 914 Big Ten athletes who received the honor for having a grade point average of at least 3.7 during the 2015-16 academic year.

Field hockey player Haley Kerstetter, men’s gymnast Noah Roberson, women’s lacrosse player Abby Smucker, women’s soccer player Emily Ogle, men’s tennis player Tomas Hanzlik, women’s track and field athletes Lauren Kenney and Sarah Jane Underwood and wrestlers Geno Morelli and Devon Van Cura earned 4.0 GPAs.