Penn State Basketball

Penn State basketball: Marshall, Newbill named honorable-mention All-Big Ten

Michigan point guard Trey Burke has been named Big Ten player of the year by both a media panel and league coaches.

Burke and Indiana’s Victor Oladipo are also considered national player of the year candidates and finished the regular season facing each other. Indiana edged Michigan 72-71 on Sunday in Ann Arbor to win the outright conference title.

Burke, who was the conference’s Freshman of the Year in 2012, is averaging 19.2 points and 6.8 assists per game and was the only Big Ten player to score at least 15 points in all 18 conference games. He is the sixth Wolverine to earn Big Ten Player of the Year honors in program history and first since Glen Rice in 1989.

The media’s All-Big Ten first team is Burke, Oladipo, Cody Zeller of Indiana and Aaron Craft and Deshaun Thomas of Ohio State, with all but Craft unanimous selections.

The coaches went with almost the same exact group, except Michigan’s Tim Hardaway Jr. replaced Craft among the top five, and only Burke and Oladipo were unanimous picks.

Both the media and the coaches named Gary Harris of Michigan State freshman of the year and Bo Ryan of Wisconsin coach of the year. Oladipo was named defensive player of the year by the coaches.

Penn State’s D.J. Newbill and Jermaine Marshall were named to the honorable mention All-Big Ten lists by both the coaches and media. The second-highest scoring duo in the conference, behind Burke and Hardaway, Newbill averaged 16.1 points per game and 4.2 assists per game while Marshall registered 15.5 points and 1.5 steals per game.

In addition, Nick Colella was honored as Penn State’s Sportsmanship Award Honoree, with one representative on the list from each of the conference’s 12 programs.

The Big Ten Tournament opens Thursday, with the Nittany Lions meeting Michigan at 2:30 p.m.