Penn State Basketball

Penn State basketball: Newbill, Frazier earn All-Big Ten honors

Penn State’s D.J. Newbill and Tim Frazier each earned all-Big Ten honors from the coaches and media, the conference announced Monday.

Newbill was selected to the second team by the coaches and media after finishing second in the conference in scoring with 17.8 points per game. The redshirt junior guard has scored 20 or more points in 10 games this season, including four of the last six. He has also led or tied for the team lead in scoring in 12 of the Nittany Lions’ last 15 games.

Newbill was an honorable mention selection last season.

Frazier earned third-team honors from the coaches and media. He was ninth in the conference in scoring with 15.5 points per game and led the Big Ten in assists with 5.5 per game. Frazier also tied for seventh in the conference in steals with 1.6 per game.

The fifth-year guard, who also was selected as the team’s Sportsmanship Award honoree, was a first-team selection by the media and a second-team selection by the coaches in 2012. He became Penn State’s all-time leader in assists this season.

The backcourt duo will lead the No. 10 seed Nittany Lions (15-16, 6-12) into their matchup against No. 7 seed Minnesota (19-12, 8-10) in the first round of the Big Ten tournament at 6:30 p.m. Thursday in Indianapolis.

Michigan’s Nik Stauskas was named the Big Ten Player of the Year by the coaches and media. He also was the lone unanimous selection to the first team, which included Iowa's Roy Devyn Marble, Michigan State's Gary Harris, Nebraska's Terran Petteway and Wisconsin's Frank Kaminsky.

Nebraska coach Tim Miles was chosen as the Coach of the Year by the coaches, while Michigan coach John Beilein was honored as Coach of the Year by the media.

The Cornhuskers finished the season 19-11 and 11-7 in the conference, earning the No. 4 seed and a first-round bye in the Big Ten tournament. Last season, Nebraska went 15-18 and 5-13 in Big Ten play.

The Wolverines (23-7, 15-3) won their first outright regular-season conference championship since 1986 despite losing guards Trey Burke and Tim Hardaway Jr. to the NBA and playing without 6-foot-10 sophomore Mitch McGary. McGary, who was a preseason All-American, hasn’t played since Dec. 14 due to a back injury.

Ohio State senior Aaron Craft was named Defensive Player of the Year by the coaches for the second time in his career. Craft led the conference in steals with 2.6 per game, and he set the Big Ten record with 328 career steals.

Wisconsin’s Nigel Hayes was selected as the Sixth Man of the Year by the coaches, and Indiana’s Noah Vonleh was honored as the Freshman of the Year by the coaches and media.

Hayes and Vonleh were also on the all-freshman team chosen by the coaches. Illinois' Kendrick Nunn, Michigan's Derrick Walton Jr. and Purdue's Kendall Stephens rounded out the team.