Penn State Football

Penn State football: Jones honored as Nittany Lion MVP

DaQuan Jones was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2013 Nittany Lion football team at the program’s annual banquet Sunday.

Jones was presented the Lions’ Pride Outstanding Senior Player Award to highlight the State College Quarterback Club's annual event at the Penn Stater as the team’s 17 seniors were honored.

“This is a fantastic group of guys,” coach Bill O’Brien said of the seniors. “They were resilient. They accepted their roles. They knew what it meant to play for Penn State. I can’t thank these guys enough. This program is about the players. It will always be about the players. We feel good about the future.”

Jones is the fourth defensive tackle to be selected Penn State’s Outstanding Senior Player since the award’s inception in 1978, joining Lou Benfatti (1993), Brandon Noble (1996) and Devon Still, a member of the Cincinnati Bengals, in 2011.

Jones led the Nittany Lions with 111/2 tackles for loss, and was fifth with 56 tackles to go with three sacks and a fumble recovery.

Sunday’s State College Quarterback Club award winners presented to the Penn State football team:

Most Valuable Player — DaQuan Jones

Alumni Athlete Award — Rich Mauti

The Iron Lion Award (intensity and consistency for a senior in strength and conditioning program) — John Urschel

John Bruno, Jr. Memorial Award (outstanding member of special teams) — Pat Zerbe

Ridge Riley Award (senior for “sportsmanship, scholarship, leadership and friendship”) — Garry Gilliam, Stephen Obeng-Agyapong

Richard Maginnis Memorial Award (outstanding offensive lineman) — Ty Howle, John Urschel

Robert B. Mitinger, Jr. Award (senior who exhibits courage, character and social responsibility) — Glenn Carson; Eric Shrive, Malcolm Willis

Outstanding Run-on Award (Run-on player who exemplifies total commitment, loyalty, hard work and courage) — Matt Lehman

Reid-Robinson Award (outstanding defensive lineman) — DaQuan Jones.

Football Letterman’s Club Joe and Sue Paterno Post-Graduate Scholarship ($5,000) — Kyle Baublitz

The Nittany Lion Club Academic Achievement Award (senior with highest GPA) — John Urschel

Quarterback Club Special Awards — tackle Adam Gress