Penn State Football

Penn State greats Collins, Dozier and Wisniewski on Ballot for 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class

From CDT Staff reports

Three players who helped Penn State football record undefeated and national championship seasons are now on the ballot for the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame class.

First-team All-Americans Kerry Collins, D.J. Dozier and Steve Wisniewski have been selected for the national ballot. They have an opportunity to join 18 former Nittany Lion players and five Penn State coaches who have been inducted into the Hall.

Also on the Hall of Fame ballot is former Nittany Lion student-athlete Glenn Killinger, for the divisional coach Class of 2016. Killinger was inducted into the Hall of Fame as a player in 1966.

Collins quarterbacked Penn State to a 40-9 record from 1991-94 and a 22-2 overall mark (14-2 conference) during the team’s first two years in the Big Ten. The recipient of the 1994 Maxwell Award as the National Player of the Year, he helped Penn State win three New Year’s Day bowl games: the 1992 Fiesta, 1994 Citrus and 1995 Rose Bowls.

Former running back Dozier is the only Nittany Lion to lead the team in rushing four consecutive seasons, doing so from 1983-86. He ranks fifth on the school career rushing yardage list with 3,227 yards, scoring 25 touchdowns and averaging 5.2 yards per attempt. Dozier gained 1,002 yards as a freshman and tallied 811 yards and scored 10 touchdowns as a senior.

Wisniewski was a three-year starter at guard for the Nittany Lions who would go on to become an All-Pro lineman in the NFL. He was one of two sophomores to start on the 1986 National Championship team and became one of just four Penn State offensive linemen to earn a pair of first-team All-America honors.

Once nominated for consideration, all player candidates for the Hall of Fame are submitted to one of eight District Screening Committees, which conducts a vote to determine who will appear on the ballot and represent their respective districts.