Penn State Hockey

Big Ten hockey: No. 1 Minnesota dominates conference awards

The team that was No. 1 in the nation for most of the season also was well ahead when it came to the Big Ten’s awards for the season.

Top-ranked Minnesota picked up nearly all of the individual awards announced by the conference Monday afternoon.

The Golden Gophers’ Adam Wilcox was named Player of the Year and Goaltender of the Year, while teammate Mike Reilly was named Defensive Player of the Year and Don Lucia picked up Coach of the Year honors in a combined vote of conference coaches and the media.

Wilcox is ranked third in the nation in goals-against at 1.91 per game, is tied for second with a .934 save percentage and he has a 23-4-6 record. He also led the conference in wins, goals against and save percentage. He and Reilly also helped the Gophers to the conference’s best defense, allowing 1.85 goals per game as a team, while killing 85 percent of their opponents’ power play opportunities, also leading the Big Ten.

Wilcox and Reilly also were first-team All-Big Ten picks, joined by Wisconsin forwards Michael Mersch and Mark Zengerle and defenseman Jake McCabe. Ohio State forward Ryan Dzingel rounded out the six first-team selections.

The second team had Badgers goalie Joel Rumpel, forward Nic Kerdiles and defenseman Frankie Simonelli; Gophers forward Kyle Rau; and Michigan forward JT Compher and defenseman Mac Bennett.

Compher also was a unanimous selection on the All-Freshman team and was named Freshman of the Year. He was joined on the All-Freshman team by teammate Michael Downing; Minnesota’s Hudson Fasching; and Buckeyes forward Nick Schilkey, defenseman Drew Brevig and goalie Christian Frey.

Each conference team also had an honoree on the Sportsmanship Award list, including Penn State’s David Glen, who missed three games in the middle of the season while making a bone marrow donation to help an unknown person battling leukemia.

Penn State is seeded sixth in the conference tournament and will meet third-seeded Michigan at 3 p.m. Thursday in the first round at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn.