Penn State Soccer

Penn State Soccer: Nittany Lions earn 6 All-Big Ten honors

Six members of the Penn State women’s soccer team were earned All-Big ten honors Tuesday on the eve of the conference tournament.

Leading the Nittany Lions were Maya Hayes and mallory Weber, each of whom were named to the first team. Hayes, who was named to the first team for a third straight season, leads the Big Ten in points with 43 on her 19 goals and five assists. Her 71 goals and 162 points lead all active Division I players for their careers.

They were joined by Taylor Schram and Whitney Church on the second team, Brittany Basinger on the freshman team and Tani Costa picked up the sportsmanship award.

The conference also handed out its top awards for the season, with regular-season champion Nebraska leading the way. The Cornhuskers’ Jordan Jackson was named Midfielder of the Year, Ari Romero was selected as Defender of the Year and John Walker claimed Coach of the Year. Illinois’ Janelle Flaws was named Forward of the Year, while Minnesota’s Tarah Hobbs was tabbed Goalkeeper of the Year. Wisconsin’s Rose Lavelle was named Freshman of the Year.

With harsh weather rolling into the area, the schedule for the Big Ten tournament at Illinois has been altered, with Wednesday’s first-round games moved to artificial turf fields on campus. Penn State and Wisconsin will now meet at 2:30 p.m., the same time Michigan faces Iowa. The other two matches, with Nebraska facing Minnesota and Indiana meeting Illinois, will both follow at 5:30 p.m.