Penn State Soccer

Penn State men’s soccer: Warming, Wolverton lead Nittany Lion award-winners

Penn State coach Bob Warming earned his second consecutive Big Ten Coach of the Year honor and junior Andrew Wolverton was named Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year on Thursday.

Jordan Tyler, Martin Seiler and Wolverton earned spots on the All-Conference first team, while Owen Griffith captured second team honors. Midfielders Connor Maloney and Mason Klerks were selected to the All-Big Ten freshman team.

Warming has guided the Nittany Lions to their fifth Big Ten title behind a 5-1-0 conference record and an 11-5-1 overall record.

Wolverton had five shutouts among his 11 wins and saved 80 percent of the shots he faced.

Bouncing back from a knee injury, Tyler matched his career high with five goals and four were game-winners.

Seiler has been Penn State’s lockdown center back for a defense that held 15 of 17 opponents to a goal or less. Seiler also had three goals.

For the second straight season, Griffith made the second team. He moved from midfield to attack and two goals and two assists.

Maloney led the conference with seven assist, while Klerks had three.

Senior midfielder Grant Warming was Penn State’s honoree for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.