Penn State Wrestling

NCAA wrestling tournament at a glance

Schedule: Thursday: First- and second-round bouts, noon; first-round consolations, 7:30 p.m.; Friday: Quarterfinals and second- and third-round consolations, 11 a.m.; Semifinals and fourth- and fifth-round consolations, 7 p.m.; Saturday: Consolation semifinals, third-, fifth- and seventh-place bouts, 11 a.m.; Finals, 8 p.m.

Where: Wells Fargo Center, Des Moines, Iowa

TV: Sessions 1, 2, 3 and place matches on ESPN3; Sessions 3, 4 and place matches on ESPNU; Finals on ESPN.

Radio: 1390 WRSC

Last time out: Penn State won the team title 143 points, 25.5 points ahead of second-place Minnesota. The Nittany Lions secured three individual titles when Frank Molinaro (149), David Taylor (165) and Ed Ruth (174 now at 184) won their respective finals bouts. As a team, Penn State wrestlers finished 33-9 and turned in 15 bonus-point victories, six falls, six major decisions and three technical falls. Nico Megaludis (125) and Quentin Wright (184 now at 197) finished second at their weight classes while Dylan Alton (157) finished third.

Other teams to watch: Minnesota came closest to upending the Nittany Lions last season and sent nine wrestlers into action. The Golden Gophers will send all 10 to the mats this year including returning heavyweight champion Anthony Nelson and defending 149-pound Big Ten champion Dylan Ness. Kevin Steinhaus (184), Chris Dardanes (133) and Logan Storley (174) return to the tournament as well after earning All-American laurels last season. ... The Iowa Hawkeyes have won 23 team titles in the last 38 years and will send another dangerous lineup of nine grapplers into action. The Hawkeyes return defending 125-pound champion Matt McDonough in addition to returning All-Americans Tony Ramos (133), Derek St. John (157), Ethen Lofthouse (184) and Bobby Telford (285) after deep tournament runs last season. ... Cornell will be led by State College native Steve Bosak who will look to end his career with a second consecutive 184-pound title after beating Wright last season. The Big Red will also look to make history as Kyle Dake (165) will try to become the first college wrestler to win four championships at four different weight classes. They’ll be joined by five others including returning All-American Mike Nevinger (141). ... While Edinboro may not compete for the team championship, local wrestler Mitchell Port, who attended Bellefonte High School, will vie for an individual title at 141 pounds after just missing out on All-American status last season. Port enters as the No. 4 seed and went 30-3 in his sophomore season. He’ll be joined by four teammates including former Tyrone wrestler A.J. Schopp who is the No. 4 seed at 133.