High School Sports

Kelsey Boone, Kyle Houser earn Penns Valley Snyder awards

Kelsey Boone and Kyle Houser were the recipients of the James Snyder Award at Penns Valley High School on Saturday night. The award, sponsored by the Centre Daily Times, is given in memory of Snyder, a former CDT sports editor, who was killed in an automobile accident in December of 1957.

The award is given to the male and female letterwinners who also demonstrated excellence in the classroom as well as being a good citizen in the school and community.

Boone, the daughter of Scott and Lesa Boone, is a three-year letterwinner on the Lady Rams basketball team. She served as the team captain this past season.

“I think it is a great honor because its nice to be recognized for the hard work that I put in to both school and my sport,” she she said of landing the Snyder honor

Boone, who has a 4.0 grade point average, has been busy off the court. Among her activities are Asylum Literary Journal Editorial Staff, Academic Decathlon, National Honor Society, Student Council, French Club, Marching Band (drum major as a senior), Concert Band, Regional Band and Chorus. Her leadership and service includes Girl Scouts, Youth Group, Blood Drives, People to People Student Ambassador, Light the Night and Operation Christmas Child.

“I like being involved in as many things as possible,” she said of her busy high school schedule. “No matter what, I tried to make time for things that were important to me.”

Through it all she was able to maintain her stellar GPA. “I think it’s really difficult, but it’s also worth in the end to make sure you can have your grades set up so that you can get into a good college and succeed in your future,” Boone said

Her future will lead her to Drexel University, where she plans to major in environmental engineering.

“I’ve always been really interested in the environment and making sure everything is well,” she said. “My dad was an engineer, so he kind of pushed me to go into engineering.”

Houser, the son of Chris and Shelly Houser, was a member of the cross country team for four years and track and field team for four years.

“I think it’s a huge honor,” Houser said receiving the Snyder Award. “Everyone here at Penns Valley works so hard in sports and academics. It means a lot to be recognized for that.”

Houser, who also has a 4.0 GPA, is a member of the Student Council, National Honor Society, and Ac ademic Decathlon Team. He served as class president as a sophomore and class treasurer the past two years, His leadership and service includes Bloor Drives, Pancake Breakfasts, Pro-Life Auction, Make-A-Wish and Christmas in Millheim.

“I think it’s real important,” Houser said of community service. “The community gives to you. So many people have supported us through our education that it’s important to give back to those that helped us.

“It’s difficult,” he added on his busy schedule and maintaining his grades. “You have to set priorities.”

Houser willl attend the Schreyer Honors College at Penn State. He plans to major in nutritional science.

“I really liked chemistry in high school,” Houser said of his interest in the major. “Nutritional science is about the human body which I think would be interesting to learn about, too.”

Penns Valley Snyder Award winners

1958 — Don Smith

1959 — Lee Wolfe

1960 — Mick O’Hora

1961 — Dean Rossman

1962 — Dave Mann

1963 — Dan Wolfe

1964 — Mike Snyder

1965 — Jim McMullin

1966 — Jeff Bohn

1967 — John Snyder

1968 — Chris Hosterman

1969 — Harry Ward

1970 — Brent Jones

1971 — Al Ilgen

1972 — Dave Gingrich

1973 — Randy Stover

1974 — Judy Lance, Mike Flickinger

1975 — Margie Burris, Rick Auman

1976 — Julie Pifer, Sam Flickinger

1977 — Patti Snyder, Charles Manula

1978 — Faith Hammaker, Allen Pifer

1979 — Mary Jane Ross, John McMullen

1980 — Vickie Smith, Dave Solley

1981 — Kim Fetterolf, Jude Klena

1982 — Crystal Weyman, Corby Stover

1983 — Kathy Shreckengast, Joseph McCarthy

1984 — Sharon Witmer, John Klena

1985 — Meg Shuey, Andy Arndt

1986 — Karen Bosak, Andy Brink

1987 — Paula Bright, Jim Beamesderfer

1988 — Bonny Moellenbrock, Derek Canova

1989 — Dana McDonald, Matt Boal

1990 — Karen Gentzel, James Hollender

1991 — Jennifer Arndt, Jason Wert

1992 — Angela Vogt , Eric Valentine

1993 — Stephanie Smith, Corby Lucas

1994 — Lauren Vogt , Mitchell Rossman

1995 — Amanda Crissinger, Todd Brooks

1996 — Mindy Whitman, Patrick Arndt

1997 — Shelley Hosterman, Justin Hollier

1998 — Christyn Rossman, Jon Soika

1999 — Jamie Crater, Michael Creeger

2000 — Erica Myers, Jason Schwier

2001 — Emily Miller, Wyatt Kearns

2002 — Mary Giardina, Benjamin Niebel

2003 — Kim Phillips, Mike Wise

2004 — Christine Wiest, Matthew Vonada

2005 — Anna Kobb, Evan Leitch

2006 — Jennifer Montminy, Nathan Andrews

2007 — Julie Stover, Jacob Wiest

2008 — Sarah Montminy, Nathan Brown

2009 — Alyson Lush, Hobart Kistler

2010 — Robin Siegenthaler, Peter Kistler

2011 — Kerry Snyder, Kevin Montminy

2012 — Madison Bastress, Matt Fuller

2013 Kelsey Boone, Kyle Houser

Penns Valley Sports Awards

Outstanding Senior Athletes


Dominque Hook, Scott Johnson

Cross County

Boys: Michael Decker


Girls: Kelsey Boone


Maverick Swartz, Cole Confer


Jenna Bishop, Madison Bressler

Track & field

Boys: Doran Tucker

Girls: Carolyn Darr


Madisyn Sharer


Maxwell Bair


Heather Leigey


Boys: Thomas Ventura

Girls: Grace Gover, Brandi Heckma


Boys: Thomas Ventura

Kevin Shisler Award

David Leedy

Football Paperweights

David Leedy, Zachary Harter, Dominique Hook

Lula Bartges Hosterman Award

Blake Peese

Jeremy Boone Award

Zachary Harter

Butch Shawley Award

Logan Coursen

Outstanding Senior Athlete

Boys: Henry Lush

Girls: Carolyn Darr

Snyder Award

Boys: Kyle Houser

Girls: Kelsey Boone

Steve Stine Award

Blake Peese

Sara Frazier Award

Sarah Haas

Dustin Stover Award

Thomas Ventura

Jeff Reed Award

Maverick Swartz

Bryan Yearick Award

Maverick Swartz

Jesse Marlet Award

Cole Confer

Rick Tyson Award

Cole Confer

Jess Hege Award

Maggie Lynch

Dorothy Harter Award

Logan Coursen

Rodner Meyers Memorial Award

Cross County

Boys: Kyle Houser, Michael Decker


Boys: Cameron Mothersbaugh

Girls: Grace Gover