High School Sports

High school softball: Centre County represented well as Pennsylvania Softball Coaches Association All-Star teams announced

A total of 14 Centre County standouts will be on the District 6 All-Star roster that tales on the District 4 All-Stars in the annual Pennsylvania Softball Coaches Association All-Star game slated for 7 p.m. Thursday at Nittany Lion Softball Park.

Makennah Dyke, who pitched Bald Eagle Area into the PIAA Class AA title game, and Haley Frank, who helped Philipsburg-Osceola make the PIAA Class AA semifinals, headline the local contingent in the contest.

They will be joined by multiple players from other Centre County schools.

Catcher Vanessa Cooper, who will play softball at Division I UMass-Lowell in the fall, leads a contingent of three players from District 6 Class AAA champion Bellefonte. Joining Cooper is outfielder Erin Pugh and second baseman Olivia Ripka.

Shortstop Ashley Struble, who paced the county with six home runs this season, heads a list of five Penns Valley players. She is joined by outfielder Tangie Lyons, second baseman Megan Houser, third baseman Courtney Ironside and catcher Nicole Harbaugh.

State College, which has not participated in the game recently, is back with four players. Catcher Sharayah Simco, outfielder Lexi Mattivi, second baseman Megan Robert and outfielder Michaela Rittenhouse will represent the Lady Little Lions in the contest.

The District 6 roster features several pitchers who took their teams to the PIAA Championship. Claysburg Kimmel’s Kiersten Coho led her team to the PIAA Class A title game and Rachael Shady helped Central Mountain make it to the quarterfinals. Bellwood-Antis outfielder Emily Nagle, a Slippery Rock recruit, also is among the standouts in the contest.

Other District 6 team memebers are: West Branch’s Gabby Redmond, Madison McCracken and Missy Croyle; Claysburg Kimmel’s Abigayle Kulick and Madison Ickes; Mifflin County’s Kali Hunter and Tara Kibe; Central Mountain’s Moriah Lindsey; Central Cambria’s Chelsey Long and Southern Huntingdon’s Hannah King.

District 6 Hall of Fame inductees are: Southern Huntingdon’s Renee Schmidt; Central Mountain Taylor Lesser; Central Cambria’s Samantha Kemock and Mifflin County’s Kimbra Eckley. The Hall of Fame induction ceremonies are slated for 6 p.m.