State College

Democrats sweep State College Borough Council race

Dan Murphy
Dan Murphy Photo provided

Five candidates ran for three open seats on State College Borough Council, and the Democrats came out on top.

Evan Myers and Theresa Lafer won re-election, while newcomer Dan Murphy — a cross-listed candidate — also secured a spot.

With all 19 State College precincts counted, Myers received 3,379 votes, Murphy got 3,087 and Lafer earned 2,683, according to Centre County unofficial election results. Republicans Lynn Herman and Richard Fitzgerald fell short with 978 and 893 votes, respectively.

Myers serves as chief operating officer at AccuWeather. Murphy is the director of Penn State’s Office for Student Orientation and Transition Programs. Lafer works in Staff Access Services at the university.

Myers has served on council for one term (four years), and Lafer has served two nonconsecutive terms (eight years) on council.

Borough Council is made up of seven members.

Election results remain unofficial until certified by the Board of Elections.

Sarah Rafacz: 814-231-4619, @SarahRafacz