Penn State

Eckerstrom, Megaludis win Medal of Honor

Penn State announced Britt Eckerstrom of the women’s soccer team and Nico Megaludis of the wrestling team as the Nittany Lions’ 2015-16 Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients on Tuesday.

The Medal Honor, in its 102nd year, recognizes intercollegiate athletes who excel both academically and athletically. The conference’s Medal of Honor was first given in 1915, and currently only 28 student-athletes — two from each Big Ten school — receive the award.

“We are proud of Britt and Nico and their pursuit of academic and competitive excellence and community engagement throughout their careers as Penn State student-athletes,” Penn State athletic director Sandy Barbour said in a press release.

Eckerstrom, whose 61 wins ranks second all-time at Penn State, led the Nittany Lions in net as they won the national championship in 2015. In her senior season, Eckerstrom’s record was 22-3-2 with 15 shutouts.

Meanwhile, Megaludis was a four-time All-American and won the 125-pound national championship on March 19. His first-ever individual title helped Penn State to the 2015 team title, its fifth in the last six years.

In the spring, Megaludis and Eckerstrom were also named recipients of the Ernest B. McCoy Memorial Award. The honor is presented to one Penn State senior female and one senior male athlete who have combined success on the field and in classroom.