Penn State Football

James Franklin among semifinalists for Coach of Year award

Penn State coach James Franklin is a semifinalist for a national honor, the program announced in a press release Friday.

Franklin is one of 16 coaches being considered for the George Munger Coach of the Year Award. Ohio State’s Urban Meyer, Michigan’s Jim Harbaugh and Wisconsin’s Paul Chryst are also among the semifinalists.

The No. 8 Nittany Lions (8-2) face Rutgers at 8 p.m. Saturday.