Penn State Football

Kerry Collins, Steve Wisniewski selected for 2018 College Hall of Fame ballot

Penn State has 18 former players in the National Football Foundation’s College Hall of Fame — and a Nittany Lion or two might be added to that group in 2018.

Penn State legends Kerry Collins and Steve Wisniewski have been selected for the national ballot of the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2018. The quarterback and offensive lineman are two of 75 players on the ballot.

Glenn Killinger, a former Nittany Lion who was inducted as a player in 1966, is also on the ballot, among the candidates for divisional coach.

The announcement of the class will be made on Jan. 8, 2018, in Atlanta — the day of the College Football Playoff National Championship.

Penn State linebacker Shane Conlan is the most recent Nittany Lion to be enshrined, entering the Hall in 2014.

Collins has a strong case to be the next Penn State inductee. He led the Nittany Lions to a 40-9 record from 1991-94 — but it was his final season that most remember.

Collins drove the nation’s most prolific offense (47.8 points per game) to a 12-0 record in 1994, finishing No. 2 in the country behind Nebraska. The signal-caller was the 1994 Maxwell Award recipient and Davey O’Brien Award winner after leading the Big Ten in passing yards (2,679) and passing efficiency (172.96).

Collins finished fourth in the Heisman Trophy voting in 1994. Nittany Lion running back Ki-Jana Carter was second.

Like Collins, Wisniewski was a first-team All-American. The offensive guard was a three-year starter at Penn State and one of two sophomores to start on the 1986 National Championship team.

Wisniewski opened holes for first-team All-American running backs Blair Thomas and D.J. Dozier — and that translated into a successful NFL career. The lineman was an eight-time Pro-Bowler and was named to the NFL’s All-Decade Team for the 1990s.

John McGonigal: 814-231-4630, @jmcgonigal9

Ballot breakdown in the Big Ten

Illinois (3): DL Moe Gardner, LB Dana Howard, LB Simeon Rice

Indiana (1): QB Antwaan Randle El

Iowa (1): OL Robert Gallery

Michigan (3): OL Jumbo Elliott, QB Rick Leach, DB Charles Woodson

Michigan State (2): PK Morten Andersen, RB Lorenzo White

Minnesota (1): DL Bob Stein

Nebraska (3): QB Eric Crouch, OL Aaron Taylor, OL Zach Wiegert

Ohio State (3): RB Keith Byars, FB Jim Otis, OL Chris Ward

Penn State (2): QB Kerry Collins, OL Steve Wisniewski

Purdue (2): SE Larry Burton, WR Taylor Stubblefield

Wisconsin (1): DB Troy Vincent

No selections: Maryland, Northwestern, Rutgers