Penn State Football

Leadership council announced for Penn State football team

Penn State coach James Franklin announced Tuesday the leadership council for the program of 24 members of the Nittany Lion football team.

The council is comprised of 12 seniors, six juniors, four sophomores and two freshmen and will serve as the voice for the team.

Council members are: seniors Brandon Bell, Derek Dowrey, Brian Gaia, Gregg Garrity, Malik Golden, Wendy Laurent, Paris Palmer, Evan Schwan, Jordan Smith, Von Walker, Nyeem Wartman-White and Tyler Yazujian; juniors Jason Cabinda, Chris Godwin, Grant Haley, DaeSean Hamilton, Andrew Nelson and Garrett Sickels; sophomores Saquon Barkley, Trace McSorley, John Reid and Nick Scott; and freshmen Ryan Bates and Tommy Stevens.

“I am very excited about our Leadership Council this year,” Franklin said. “They are a group of guys that are what we look for in Penn State football student-athletes and represent our four core values on a daily basis. The Leadership Council gives the team a strong voice with their teammates and our coaching staff.”

The group will be expected to uphold program values as well as lead the team, and will meet at least twice a month in Franklin’s office.