Penn State Hockey

Nittany Lions earn Big Ten hockey honors

Penn State’s Eamon McAdam and Vince Pedrie earned second-team All-Big Ten honors Monday from conference men’s hockey coaches and media members to wrap up the regular season.

Pedrie also was named to the All-Freshman team, and David Goodwin made honorable mention after helping the Nittany Lions to a 20-12-4 record this season, 10-9-1-1 in the conference.

McAdam led the Big Ten in save percentage (.915) and was second in goals-against average (2.88), and also picked up three assists offensively.

Pedrie recorded the second-best points-per-game average for a defenseman in the conference at 0.69, scored eight goals and led the team in shots on goal with 118 despite missing the final four games with an injury.

Goodwin led the Nittany Lions with 34 points on 11 goals and 23 assists, and became the program’s all-time scoring leader earlier in the season, now with 33 goals and 53 assists.

Michigan dominated the awards, including its high-scoring “CCM” line of Kyle Connor, J.T. Compher and Tyler Motte, who made up the three forward positions on the All-Big Ten first team. The trio are all among the nation’s top five scorers. Connor was a unanimous selection to both the first team and All-Freshman team, and also picked up Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and scoring champion honors. Red Berenson was honored as Coach of the Year, and defeseman Zach Werenski also was on the first team as well as earning Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Ohio State defenseman Josh Healey and Minnesota goalie Eric Schierhorn completed the first team, and Schierhorn also was named Goaltender of the Year.

Penn State senior defenseman Luke Juha was honored as the team’s Sportsmanship Award winner from the conference.

Penn State faces Wisconsin at 5 p.m. Thursday in the first round of the Big Ten Tournament in St. Paul, Minn.