Penn State Hockey

Penn State’s Big Ten hockey schedule set

The Big Ten announced the conference schedule for men’s hockey on Thursday, with Penn State opening conference play Dec. 1-2 against Michigan.

The defending conference champions will play a Thursday-Friday series at Pegula Ice Arena to start the 20-game Big Ten slate. The Wolverines also will be the opponent for the final series of the regular season, March 10-11, at Yost Ice Arena.

The rest of the conference slate is set for after the Holiday break for the Nittany Lions, with other home series set for Michigan State (Jan. 13-14), Ohio State (Jan. 20-21), Minnesota (Feb. 17-18) and Wisconsin (March 3-4). The series against the Golden Gophers falls on the same weekend as the Penn State IFC/Panhellenic Dance Marathon.

Other road games include Ohio State (Jan. 6-7), Minnesota (Feb. 3-4), Wisconsin (Feb. 10-11) and Michigan State (Feb. 24-25). The Big Ten Tournament will be played March 16-18 at Detroit’s Joe Louis Arena.

The non-conference schedule is expected to be announced next week. It figures to include a series at Notre Dame, returning the series played at Penn State last season, and a home-opening pair of games against St. Lawrence on Oct. 6-7, as the Saints announced last month.