Penn State Wrestling

Penn State wrestling announces team awards

Zain Retherford received the Outstanding Wrestler Award at the team’s banquet, the program announced in a press release Sunday.

Retherford capped a perfect season by capturing the national championship at 149 pounds. Nico Megaludis, who won the national championship at 125 pounds, was chosen as the Total Commitment Award and Perseverance Award winner.

Jordan Conaway finished sixth in the nation at 133 and won the Kaye Vinson Most Improved Award. Morgan McIntosh, the national runner-up at 197, received the Leadership Award, Matt McCutcheon was selected as the Community Service Award winner.

Penn State won the national title last season, its fifth in six years.