Penn State Wrestling

Nittany Lion wrestlers receive academic honors

Six Penn State wrestlers were named National Wrestling Coaches Association First Team National All-Academic winners.

The six honorees is the most for any program in the nation as the Nittany Lions finished with a 3.255 team grade-point average, ninth in Division I, to go with Big Ten and NCAA championships last season.

Earning accolades were Senior All-American Jordan Conaway, two-time NCAA qualifier Matt McCutcheon, NCAA qualifier Geno Morelli, redshirt freshman Jason Nolf and NCAA champions Nico Megaludis and Zain Retherford. Megaludis, a senior, was the 125-pound titlist while Retherford, a sophomore, earned the 149-pound crown.

They helped the Nittany Lions win their fifth national championship in the last six seasons.